A/W overview: Looks I Love

Autumn Winter

So Autumn is nearly upon us and the shops are slowly starting to fill up with the new muted shades that remind us it’s already time to dig out the tights and layers. This coming season there seems to be a lot of trends coming to the fore but as with anything, don’t go for all of them! Pick the ones that suit you and invest in a couple of key pieces. Make up a mood board of inspirations and use those key pieces to create numerous looks. In my picture above I have documented the looks and colours I will be going after this coming season. Read on to see what I have to say about them!

Leather shorts are one of my must-buys for the season. Teamed with tights and shoe boots, I see these worn with cute chiffon blouses or chunky knits. Think Balmain or Jean Paul Gaultier and use as part of the ‘Glam Goth’ look. I’ve heard River Island have a great flattering pair that aren’t too short so I’m off to check it out!

My OPI nail polishes are from the latest ‘Swiss’ collection and entitled Diva of Geneva and Cuckoo for this Colour and I love them both! Recently I got very excited when I heard that ASOS now finally ship nail varnish to Ireland, so I don’t need to hassle friends visiting the US or London to pick up new shades for me. Deep purple and teal tones are very wearable and will go with my overall look for A/W.

If you want to make a statement this season, inject some red into your wardrobe. I’m opting for a deep scarlet shade on a fitted dress that will take me from work to the bar. I’ll also be working red lips with gusto as a finisher for some other outfits. There really is no better way to make sure all eyes are on you!

Chunky knits and all things Alpine are finally having a fashion moment! I’ve already picked up super soft snoods in neutral colours, a faux fur trapper hat and an oversized Fair Isle print cardi. I will be wearing my chunky knits over skinny jeans or thrown over lightweight dresses.

Everyone is talking about the camel coat, and its no wonder – buy now and wear forever. Elegant, ladylike and in a million styles, there’s no budget that won’t allow for this coat! I’m keeping my eyes out for a cashmere one due into Penney’s later this year. Topshop also has one with a good cut and texture.

If its luxury you’re after, no trend screams it more than Baroque. I’m going to be investing in a brocade skirt and velvet pumps. Even a bit of leopard print will work well to make an otherwise tame outfit look super luxe. For inspiration look at the catwalks of Balmain.

My jewellery this season is going back to where it began – vintage pieces or antique looking gems. I’ll be keeping an eye out for large stones in crimson, topaz and turquoise and large embellished cuffs. If its heritage or unique you are after, I came across this site recently and plan on making a couple of purchases of their very unique pieces: Jewellery by Galibardy

I’ll be channeling my inner 70’s child with chiffon blouses, toffee colored wide-legged trousers and silk scarves. A chiffon blouse in sheer black or white will add a new twist when worn with a contrasting texture such as velvet or leather. Zara have some very affordable ones at the moment.

My bag of choice will be a satchel in a buttery leather or an oversized clutch in a bright shade (finally, some colour in my A/W wardrobe!). If a satchel is a bit too ‘school‘ for you, try a structured ladylike handbag with a buckle on the front. See Chloé or Louis Vuitton for ideas.

If your boots aren’t lined with fur or wool then you will be in the minority this coming season! Shearling is everywhere at the moment as part of the heritage and aviator trends. I don’t think I could pull off an aviator jacket so I’m going to pick up a pair of boots lined with shearling to work this look. I have my eye on an amazing pair in New Look that better not be gone by pay-day!

3 thoughts on “A/W overview: Looks I Love

  1. Love this breakdown of A/W!
    I bought an aviator style jacket in Topshop this weekend but it’s all black so doesn’t scream Top Gun!

Leave a Reply

