If you wear one thing this week… #11

…make it something you can wear to the Galway Races! It’s that time of year ladies – the annual exodus West to Galway for a bit of racing action. I’ve been going to the races for as long as I can remember and love nothing more than a grabbing a seat in one of the tents and watching all the beautiful ladies swan past. The style is always top-notch in Galway during Race Week! Ladies Day is on Thursday but no matter what day you head out to Ballybrit you can be guaranteed that feminine dresses, headpieces and skyscraper heels are going to be in abundance. Dress yourself in something you are comfortable in, that stands out and that has a little touch of you on it, and you’ll be ready for any photo opportunity!

Camilla Belle

Pixie Lott & friend

Jessica Alba

As with a lot of race events, people tend to go all out for Galway (well, the prize is pretty big on Ladies Day!) so expect lots of colour, lots of chiffon and lots of heels that will be ditched by 7pm! Without a doubt, the looks I love every year are the ones that look effortless, the ones you can imagine still feeling great in at 3am when you’re standing outside Tigh Neachtain’s… This year I’m predicting plenty of floral patterns, maxis and the colour red. Personally, I’d love to see something similar to Camilla Belle’s outfit above in the running for best dressed.

Naomie Harris

Katherine Jenkins

Rachel Bilson

How I will dress for Galway Races this week: Unfortunately I won’t come even close to the women featured in this post when it comes to my outfit – my excuse is the fact that my leg/knee is still swollen (no short dresses) and I’m still not very mobile (no heels!). So in order to still look classy I’m planning on wearing my new dark leopard print flat pumps from River Island, with a chalk coloured ladder knit top from New Look over inky black cropped skinny pants.

Eva Mendes

January Jones

Claire Danes

If you are in the buying mood: I think this wrap dress from Awear is guaranteed to turn heads. Loving the deep V-neck and vintage feel to it. Pick it up online or in store while it’s still there!

4 thoughts on “If you wear one thing this week… #11

  1. Tigh Neachtain’s-amazing craic! Love Camilla Belles outfit I agree something like that should take home the prize. I’ve noticed that English racing events Cheltenham and Ascot are just showered in tackiness, Danielle Lloyd and the likes. Wish I was heading down this year! My bank balance would love the injection. I’m lucky 🙂 Enjoy! I think you’ll look very stylish dear and effortlessly cool it sounds lovely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

