If you wear one thing this week… #8

…make it a parka jacket! Or any sort of military style jacket for that matter. Yes the parka is being embraced in a whole new way this year. Normally the sort of item you might spot in the A/W collections, the trusty parka has suddenly become a summer staple (and when living in Ireland this totally makes sense)! A parka will see you from the office to the bar to a festival to a BBQ and home again, and you can bundle it up in the corner when you’re not wearing it – my kind of perfect!

Alexa Chung

Whitney Port

Rachel Bilson

The key differences of the summer parka are in its style – keep it long and slouchy, but go for a lightweight material. Keep it olive green in colour but roll up those sleeves. Buttons and zips work but look for parkas with a drawstring so you can cinch in the waist. Pair it with shorts, skinny jeans or floaty tea dresses, wellies, pumps or sandals. And while you’re at it, see what the lovely Whisty had to say about parkas here!

Olivia Palermo

Street Style

How I will wear my parka this week: I picked up a great parka in Penny’s recently – olive green, floral design on the seams on the inside (when you roll up the sleeves it adds a cute touch), drawstring waist and lightweight. They only had it in a larger size when I spotted it but I picked it up anyhow and have been on the hunt for my own size since so I could exchange it. Finally found one at the weekend so I can give my parka an outing at last! I’m attending a boat party on Saturday eve in Galway and my parka is the perfect cover-up for when the sun goes down. I’m teaming it with a nude silk tulip skirt, plain slouchy black vest, and gladiator sandals (I’m unsteady at the best of times so heels on a boat are a huge no-no!).

Kate Moss

Street Style

If you are in the buying mood: I like this simple parka on ASOS and reckon you would get a few years out of it as its not OTT. I love the double pockets at the front and the cinched waist at the back. Check it out now.

6 thoughts on “If you wear one thing this week… #8

  1. LOVE PARKAS! It’s so my new obsession, love that you’ve gone with more summery light-weight versions here too Chica! X

  2. one of the Gallagher brothers included a parka in the collection Pretty Green. I thought they were naff, but they are so funky for women when worn with skinny jeans and the wet leggings in those photos. It’s playing the whole baggy, formless against the tight chic. It doesn’t really work like that for men.

    • True – on men its a bit too 1995 for me… I like what you’re saying about the opposite sizes working in tandem so might swap my tulip skirt for a bodycon one instead!

Leave a Reply

