If you wear one thing this week… #5

…make it shorts! Yes that age old summer wardrobe item seems to be everywhere this year, so there really is no excuse not to get those pins out in a shorts style that suits you. Personally, I’m not the biggest fan of my legs but I still have found one pair of shorts that are ultra flattering and go with everything – the trick is to literally try on every pair and every style until you find yours! We might not all pull it off like Lauren Conrad but we can try πŸ™‚

Whitney Port looks great in leather

Short shorts anyone??

Shorts can work for both day and night depending on the style – its about how you dress them. For example, city shorts are perfect for work especially if you choose a neutral colour, paired with a shirt tucked in and a pair of dainty flats or loafers. When it comes to 5 o’ clock, stick on a pair of heels and some serious jewellery! Another style that doubles for work and play are utility shorts, especially ones with turn ups that can help make them more length appropriate for work…

Diane Kruger works the utility style

The infamous scalloped hem

For the more adventurous amongst us, the trend for leather shorts is a must. Try a black pair with a chiffon top tucked in for a contrast in textures. Make sure to keep them loose fitting however. Another style I love are those cute high-waisted ones that seem to be everywhere – go for ditsy dainty prints and tuck a vest top in.

Lauren knows high-waisted shorts look great

So cute Diane!

How I will wear my shorts this week: My trusty shorts are a pair I picked up a couple of years ago in Topshop. They’re slouchy city shorts (that could pass as a skirt) in a cream shade with little turn ups that have gold buttons. I plan on wearing them to work one day this week with a purple ruffled chiffon top I picked up in Penny’s at the weekend, and my flats from French Sole.

Love the colours here on Whitney

Olivia Palermo

Lauren Conrad

If you are in the buying mood: ASOS have a great selection of shorts to suit everyone. Buy these cute black ones from Oasis and they will last you for more than this Summer! A steal for less than €50, they will go with everything in your wardrobe, I promise!

5 thoughts on “If you wear one thing this week… #5

  1. I was sceptical about shorts at the start but you’re right you literally have to try on a million pairs before you find a style that suits! I bought a lovely pair from Zara a few weeks ago and I love them!

    Love Lauren Conrad too, she’s so chic and dresses perfectly for her shape!

  2. Shorts?! You wouldn’t catch me in a pair! Ha! Kidding obv.! Love them!
    I really like this look on that there Hills girl. The blouse is very pretty. I shall now go invest in something equally slouchy and shiny! Thanks for the inspiration Ms Metro! X
    http://whisty.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

