MTV Movie Awards 2010: Some looks that worked

The MTV Movie Awards took place last night in LA and as expected, it was the usual faces in attendance. As was also expected, the awards were mostly about Twilight and the Twilight team, and there was no real scandal. Over the years I’ve realised that the fashion at this award ceremony is more fun and experimental than you might find at other awards and if anything, some of the ‘stars’ dress to get the press (yes I’m talking about you Katy Perry!). However, that said, I saw a couple of outfits on the red carpet last night that I know I will see replicated on the high street in the coming weeks and below are the best of these looks.

Is that a smile I see Kristen Stewart??! Wonders will never cease… OK so this D&G outfit wasn’t to everyone’s taste but I think she looked great. The girl has got legs – she might as well show them off… And I like her hair extension which you can’t see all that well here unfortunately.

Vanessa Hudgens wore a babydoll dress by British designer Jenny Packham. It really suited her innocent and sweet look (if you believe all that…) and I can see this look spawning a million lookalikes. If you can zoom on this you will see that the really interesting detail is around the bodice with a blue and silver crystal detail that ties at the front.

I’ll probably get slated for this but I think Nicky Hilton has a good eye for dresses that suit her. This Missoni turquoise knit dress looks great against her California tan and messy fishtail plait. I reckon Topshop will have a similar one soon!

Ever since I saw ‘Up in the air’ I’ve had a soft spot for Anna Kendrick. She’s just so cute! I was delighted to see her win Best Breakout Star and didn’t she look great accepting it in her Zac Posen Fall 2010 chiffon paint print dress? I love the summery feel to it and the deep V-neck. This print is going to be everywhere!

Jessica Biel has one of those bodies that you know just takes a lot of hard work. So with such a killer body I’d like to see her in something a bit more showy. But regardless, I like this Giambattista Valli Fall 2010 dress. Its different because of the varying textures and the pink bow makes it all come together. And how glossy and fab is her hair?!

Well I was always going to say something lovely about Scarlett Johansson because I love her, but honestly she looks perfect in this D&G green lace dress. OK so there’s nothing spectacular about it but it suits her. Pity she has lost all those curves that made her famous in the first place… I can see copies of this dress appearing at every wedding up and down the country this year!

Well it wouldn’t be an MTV party without its biggest export, the reality TV girls! I loved Whitney Port‘s look here in Yigal Azrouël Spring 2010. Her hair annoyed me immensely however. I reckon Warehouse or Reiss will have a copy soon enough. Stephanie Pratt‘s Leila Shams Spring 2010 asymmetrical dress was totally ’80’s but it worked! Loved the colours but the shoes are hideous… Reckon all the high street stores will have similar looks/prints instore. Audrina Patridge shone (literally) in her oversized dress – it looks silver but its actually more green. The Giuseppe Zanotti shoes were overkill though with all the embellisments and studs. Lo Bosworth looks incredible in her Diane Von Furstenberg gown but it was out of place and over the top for this type of awards ceremony 😦

I couldn’t really do a post about the MTV Movie Awards and not mention Katy Perry. I disliked both the dresses she wore – this Zuhair Murad Fall 2010 one above was the better of the two. But I did like the shoes! They are Rock & Republic Lotus platform pumps and the minute I see a copy they will be in my wardrobe!

So what did you think? I know I have missed a load of outfits here

so let me know what looks you loved/hated!

***Update!!!!***

This morning, I saw this pic of Lily Collins in a modified Stella McCartney dress and I had to include it! I love the colour and the sheer panels. She worked it well with minimal accessories and contrasting grey sandals. Cute!

 

5 thoughts on “MTV Movie Awards 2010: Some looks that worked

  1. I love Anna Kendrick too! Oasis already have a dress with a similar print. I actually think Katy Perry should just go away, she annoys me so much!

  2. Oh God Kristen Stewart looked terrible ….and she was probably smiling at someone’s misfortune at the time the picture was taken!
    I’m really disappointed in Anna Kendrick though ….I can’t believe followed up that beautiful nude pink gown with THAT!!!

    • Haha aaahh I thought she looked nice! To be fair it was a pretty poor red carpet. You’d find similar on a Saturday night heading into Krystal 😉

  3. Pingback: Awards are like buses…. « Metro Chica

Leave a Reply

